Drivers who want to legally drive in the state of North Carolina must meet specific insurance requirements. Oak Ridge Insurance Services is committed to helping all Oak Ridge, NC residents obtain the auto insurance needed to legally drive within the state. As with most states, all North Carolina drivers must meet the state minimum auto insurance requirements before they can operate a vehicle on the streets, roads, and highways of NC.
North Carolina Auto Insurance Requirements
North Carolina residents must carry auto liability insurance for bodily injury and property damage, in addition to uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Bodily injury liability coverage must be maintained in the amount of $30K per person and $60K per accident. Property damage coverage must meet the state minimum coverage requirements in the amount of $25K.
The state minimum requirements for uninsured/underinsured motorists must be maintained at $30K per person and $60K per accident, just like bodily injury liability insurance.’ Uninsured/underinsured motorists’ coverage must be maintained at $25K for property damage. Uninsured/underinsured motorists’ insurance is designed to pay medical bills if you or anyone in your car is injured in an auto accident with another uninsured or underinsured driver. This insurance will also pay for any repairs to your car as a result of the damage caused by an accident.
North Carolina drivers should also understand that failure to maintain the state minimum auto insurance requirements can result in fines and other punitive measures. Once your insurance lapses, your insurance company is required to report the lapse to the DMV. From that point, you have ten days to reinstate your insurance or obtain new auto insurance to meet the state minimum requirement and provide proof of coverage to the DMV. If you have questions regarding what’s legally required to operate a vehicle in NC, give us a call. Our team at Oak Ridge Insurance Services is standing by.